top of page

Leadership from the Heart

January 1, 2012. I woke up still feeling the enjoyment of the New Year's celebration with family and friends the night before. From the balcony of my hotel room, I saw the blue ocean reflecting the sunshine on the water and watched the peace of waves rolling gently ashore and washing the white sand of Ondina Beach in Salvador, located in the northeast region of Brazil. What a nice place to start a new year! For a few moments, I pretended that such a wonderful vacation would be my personal life all year long. . . . But real life reminded me that a week later I would be working with 50 participants of the MA Leadership cohort in Brazil and, immediately, my thoughts shifted to Leadership. With a heart full of excitement and purposes for the new year, I wondered about the essence of leadership and, as I began to ponder possible ideas that could inspire my leadership experience in 2012, I recollected a quote by Kouzes and Posner, in the book The Leadership Challenge, which says: “Leadership is not an affair of the head. Leadership is an affair of the heart” (p. 351). In fact, sometimes it is easy to think of leadership as an intellectual decision-making process and forget about the emotional nature of leadership. In this beginning of a new year, I am dreaming of developing a more holistic leadership experience, and I would encourage you to do the same. Let’s make 2012 an opportunity for developing leadership from the heart! Happy 2012!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page